Railway Stations

There are a handful of railway stations in the Brighton and Hove area: Brighton, Hove, London Road, Moulscoomb, Falmer, Preston Park, Portslade, Aldrington, and Fishersgate. Brighton station is by far the largest, with 8 platforms, shops and several food outlets. There are three railway lines that leave Brighton Station, which is the end of the line. The Brighton Main Line goes through Preston Park and towards London. The West Coastway line goes West along the coast through Hove to Shoreham, Worthing and eventually Southampton. The East Coastway line, surprisingly, goes East, passing through London Road and Moulscoomb to Lewes, Seaford and Eastbourne.

Did you know?

Brighton station is the eighth busiest station outside London, with 14.5 million journeys made in 2010/2011.

Facts and Figures

Brighton Station was built in 1840, and its first line ran to Shoreham. Soon after that the station was connected with London Bridge, making it a popular destination with Londoners.

Preston Park Station makes an appearance in the video for ‘Down with the Trumpets’ by Rizzle Kicks.

Several railway stations in Brighton used to exist, but have since been shut down. These include Kemptown station (closed in 1933) and Devils Dyke station (closed in 1939)




(Details of the facilities available at Brighton Station)


Shows live departures


(map of all the stations covered by Southern)